News DetailCurrent Location :Home > News > News Detail

What is the content of the WI-FI Alliance certification test of WI-FI 4/WI-FI 5/WI-FI 6

Time:2022/7/12 Posted:Deeplight Technology Co.,Ltd

1. What is the difference between WI-FI 4/WI-FI 5/WI-FI 6?

Also known as IEEE 802.11n, WI-FI 4 allows the use of two radio frequency bands, 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, and can provide data transfer speeds of up to 600 Mbps.


WI-FI 5 is 802.11ac, and 802.11ac uses the 5 GHz radio band and can provide maximum data transfer speeds of up to 2.3 Gbps.


Also known as 802.11ax, WI-FI 6 is also known as High Efficiency Wireless (HEW) and operates on the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency bands with a maximum rate of 9.6Gbps.


2. Items that must be tested in the WI-FI Alliance Test


In addition to the tests for interoperability, throughput, and protocols, there are the following tests:


WI-FI 4 

1. 11N CertificationSTA) (b/g/n or a/b/g/n



(The full name of WPA3 is Wi-Fi Protected Access 3, which is a new Wi-Fi encryption protocol released by the Wi-Fi Alliance at the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas, USA on January 8, a follow-up version of the Wi-Fi authentication standard WPA2 technology )

3. Protected Management FramesSTA

(Protected Management Frame (PMF) is a standard defined by the WI-FI Alliance to enhance the security of WI-FI connections. It provides unicast and multicast management operations and builds a security approach with WPA2/WPA3 to improve packet privacy. )



1. 11N CertificationSTA) (b/g/n or a/b/g/n


3. Protected Management FramesSTA

4. 11ACSTA



1. 11N CertificationSTA) (b/g/n or a/b/g/n


3. Protected Management FramesSTA

4. 11ACSTA

5. 11AXSTA



The MBO (Multi-Band Operation) capability enables the WLAN network to efficiently utilize the available spectrum and helps to optimize the connection experience for the end user. MBO, also known as Agile Multiband, is a prerequisite for 802.11ax authentication, so any AP or STA that supports 802.11ax will be MBO capable.


3. The cost of WI-FI Alliance certification


Certification applies to a wide range of consumer, enterprise and carrier-specific products, including smartphones, home appliances, computers and peripherals, network infrastructure, and consumer electronics. The Wi-Fi CERTIFIED logo gives consumers confidence that a product will provide a good user experience. Service providers and enterprise IT managers are specifically asking to purchase products with Wi-Fi CERTIFIED to reduce maintenance support costs and ensure products meet industry requirements.



The WI-FI Alliance certification fee consists of 3 parts, review fee, membership fee, and test fee. The review fee and membership fee are paid by the member to the WI-FI Alliance, not by the testing agency. Test fee: The price varies according to different test items, please contact Deeplight for consultation.

WhatsApp: 132 6651 8903

Tel: 0755-89202795